6th June DDay remembered, BBC I hate you and arrival in Jersey

Early rise, yoga and day 6 of the ab challenge. Made sure everything was packed away then headed downstairs for breakfast. I had managed a good nights sleep which is just as well as I wont be seeing a proper bed for another week.
Crossed the road to the ferry port got booked in and joined the Q for the ferry only about 20 vehicles. The boat was soon loaded and on its way on calm seas.
The BBC was doing an amazing job of covering the events in Normandy and I had to stop watching it as it brought a lump to my throat and a tear to my eye and I wasn’t the only one!
We passed Alderney basking in the sunlight and sometime later made a stop in Guernsey then onwards to Jersey and Daisy cottage camp site and retreat.

20140606-213301-77581829.jpg
Landed at St Helier in the middle of a car and motorbike rally with bikes burning up the prom all very well organised but throwing me off route for a little while! The campsite was about 6 miles away from the ferry and about half full. I paid the remainder of my bill for the two nights and got the tent up. I had noticed at Langholm that it was a bit worst for wear and succeeded in putting another tear in it. At this rate I wont have a tent left by the time I reach Caen!..So to bed looking forward to a tour round the island sans panniers tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

