Beaches, batteries and cycle routes.

A good nights sleep last night and a bit of a long lie today as I did not want to cycle in rush hour. I bought a map of the area and although it shows some cycle routes there was a lot less than I was expecting however actually cycling in the area is a different story with routes available, surprisingly where I want to go! I set off following a route described in the Lonely Planet cycling in France guide but soon picked up newish looking bike paths heading in the right direction so followed them. I headed for Omaha beach and the massive American cemeterty nearby. The visitor centre has a very good exhibition supported by audio visual shows.

20140611-203000-73800133.jpg
The whole place is moving and very well tended. Oh and it has cycle parking!
I stopped off at the Big Red 1 and Musee Overlord stopped off as there was no bike parking and I was on a budget. The Normandy museums av 9euros a throw. I picked 3 and decided that I would patronise them even if they did’nt have a bike park. Heading east along the coast the next site was a German battery with remnants of their heavy artillery still in place.
The Musee du Debarquement was one of the places on my list . This is in Arromanches les Bains and although not very big it has the added attraction of as number of beach landing vehicles outside and of course remnants of the mulberry harbour lying off shore.
Not a long day mile wise, about 31, but v satisfying and emotional.
Ab chall day 11 done in the tv room of campsite!
Tomorrow I plan to stay off the bike and take a walk around the Ville of Bayeux and have a look at a bit of knitting!

Leave a Reply

