Decking, paint shortage, DIY and S Fry Esq!

A new week and nearly October where has the last few months gone.  I seem to have done so much lifes good!!!

I thought I would go out for a BRO (big ring only) ride and try some overgeared climbing a wee celebration at having entered the 2015 Marmotte!  Twenty eight miles and 1300 ft of climbing later my legs were telling me that it wasnt such a good idea!  However after my yoga class my legs felt a lot better and I did get a good sleep.

With the decking now complete I decided that I had better get some treatment on it before the weather closed in and it was impossible to paint.  I trotted off to B & Q and purchased a tin of decking seal, 20sqm two coats sir, ha never even made one coat and I was left with a bare patch about 4 ft long on two of the boards!  However with good weather forecast for the rest of the week I knew I would have time to give the decking another coat so when in doubt do 6x800m with 400 recovery, a resistance session (veasy on legs) and a yoga class!  Those combined with some TLC from Muff and things were looking good and feeling fine.

Weds is my rest day this week although you would not think it.  I helped Muff in her garden then shifted slabs, edging stones and gravel to Zoe’s.  Oh and I managed to get the bare decking sealed.  In the evening we went to the cinema to see Stephen Fry live beamed all over the world from The Festival hall.  We arrived to an empty theatre and by the start there was only 14 seats full!  People watching is a favourite pastime for us and you would think that in an almost empty cinema there would not be much to watch however human nature being human nature meant there was a little drama unfolding which was hilarious to watch.  Normally tickets are not printed with seat numbers however tonigh they were.  Muff and I being rebels decided that we would take a different seat than that on the tickets.  Others were coming in and going to the “nomnated” seat.  Two ladies did the same as us and settled into thier seats only to be moved on by the correct seat holders, this in an empty cinema.  No sooner had they settled in another two seats and they were moved on again!!  This time they took a lot at thier tickets and sat in the “correct” seats.  We were sitting laughing.

Frys show was good, a plug for his new book with no punches pulled.

Leave a Reply

