The close season

I thought that I had at least two races after Islay both of them Duathlons, both of them races I had done before and both of them races I had won Auld Bugger prizes at unfortunately it was not to be.  The Knockhill race and effectively the series is off due to low entries, the other the St Andrews University I have decided not to enter due to other commitments that weekend.  A wedding in Edinburgh and my former companies 30yr celebrations also in Edinburgh.  That meant that my final event of any significance was on the 3rd of October a 21 mile relay leg on the Fife Coastal Path (19.8 miles in 3:03:05) Not my best run and one which aggravated an adductor strain I picked up in Islay.

So, with the racing season finished and an injury to get over, begins the close season – resting, planning and training for next year.

Nursing an injury will force me to take it easy on the running front and with a two-four week recovery phase planned my biking miles will be easy as well.  This will give me a chance to check out all my bikes and do any repairs required before starting winter training on them. In the mean while I will get back to some core and strength training before starting training in earnest for my Spring A race the Stirling duathlon.

Leave a Reply

