My N marathon prep

The best laid plans etc etc.  I woke up on Thursday morning with a wee tickle at the back of my throat as the day wore on it got worse and worse and by 6;30pm and my Jog Scotland group run the last thing I wanted to do was run!  After the run I headed to Leven to spend the evening with Carol and ended up in bed for 10 after a bath and a hot toddy!

After a 10 hour sleep albeit disturbed I was feeling slightly better and headed home to do some tasks there and wait on Carols arrival for our trip to Edinburgh to visit her brother and see the Handlebards at the Botanics.  I may have thought I was feeling better but the urge to climb in bed for an afternoon nap meant otherwise.

A pleasant visit and tour of the new Black des res was followed by food and a cycle to the botanics for the oudoor performance by the “Bards”.

By the time we got back to Octavia St I was fading again and after another bath and hot toddy I was sound asleep for almost another 10 hours.

I woke up showered, packed and headed south.  I met Keith and Chris, old friends of mine from Sunderland, in Alnwick and spent some time with them before I set out in the car to check the route to the start and the parking.  With that done I headed to Alnwick YH where I am penning this.

Hopefully I will be able to report completion of my N marathon in my race review.

 

Leave a Reply

